Nationally, the EPA requires technicians to obtain their Section 608 certification in order to work on the refrigeration part of HVAC equipment. This certifies that the technician is qualified to connect or disconnect hoses and pressure gauges from an appliance, measure the pressure in the appliance, add or remove refrigerant from an appliance, or perform any other activity on an appliance that requires refrigerant to operate. The Environmental Protection Agency offers four certifications for working with refrigerants, which vary depending on the size and power of the device being treated or maintained. In Florida, HVAC technicians must be licensed by the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR).
To apply for an HVAC license in Florida, applicants must be at least 18 years old and have a high school diploma or GED. They may also need to submit proof of their age and education before they can move forward with the certification process. Candidates must also pass a criminal background check, which may require a LiveScan fingerprint check. Hard copies and records are cross-checked against both the FBI database and criminal databases shared across the country, and felony convictions can disqualify a candidate regardless of the state in which the conviction occurred. Having a certification identification number and encouraging potential customers to search for your company on the state's website is a positive way to assure homeowners that they can trust you for the complex task of installing or repairing their HVAC equipment.
When you finish an HVAC program, you'll learn all the skills needed to become an entry-level HVAC technician. Obtaining a Florida HVAC systems contractor license requires several requirements, such as passing an exam, meeting experience requirements, passing a background check, demonstrating financial stability and obtaining liability insurance. Obtaining an HVAC license in Florida can be a somewhat lengthy process, but most contractors can get the necessary work done in just a few months. Florida Career College's HVAC technician program includes courses on refrigeration, electrical, problem solving, heating, commercial refrigeration, duct design, air conditioning, and specialized equipment. When applying for a Florida HVAC license, applicants will have to pay the application fee to the Florida DBPR, as well as the exam fees. Florida HVAC technicians can attend Faraday's online HVAC training program to help them prepare for exams or advance their career. In general, you need between 4 and 5 years of education and experience before applying for your Florida HVAC license.
Obtaining a license to work as an HVAC professional in Florida can take a lot of time and effort, but it's worth it for those who have obtained it.